Tags

, ,

I see working online as an intresting form of marketing, as well as a desire to share what is going on in one’s own workshop. Deciding how much time and when to work on the keyboard, searching, reading and surfing requires self-discipline! Ayumi Horie tells us about the difficult balance between work with clay and working on a computer. Thanks to Oregon college of art and craft library as well as Ceramic arts.

Oregon College of Art and Craft Library

 

CM: One of the other things you have become known for beyond, but related to, your work is your effectiveness at marketing your work through digital media. How did you become an early adopter of technology in our field, and how have you seen that change over time?

AH: When I got out of grad school I was at a crossroads. On one hand, I could teach in academia, and on the other, I could make work. I chose to primarily make work. To my good fortune, the internet was growing quickly and I was interested in it on an artistic level and as
a marketing tool. Artistically, it felt very much like ceramics, where niggling and loss of control existed in the same process. I was also interested right from the beginning in reaching out to people directly. I’ve always been very shy, and being online was a…

View original post 261 more words

